Metal thieves are at it again

We’ve had warnings from several Mowbray and Rosebank residents that metal thieves are active again in the area. Copper piping and metal water channels have been ripped out.

So please be on the alert, particularly for unfamiliar or otherwise suspicious people with wheelie bins, trolleys, cars or horse-drawn carts. Call SAPS, ADT and the Copperheads, if necessary – the numbers are on the website.

 

3 responses to “Metal thieves are at it again

  1. Jane De Decker

    The roving SAPS van asked to be called as soon as you see the horse and cart. I have been doing this.

  2. All too often we criticise bad service and neglect praise for good service. I came across a council crew working in Bushwood road about 2 weeks ago and point out the missing drain grates in Sawkins road (near the intersection with Klipfontein – and also near the intersection with Bushwood). Well, big pat on the back to the City Council for proactivity: I’ve been away for 2 weeks and noticed this morning that both those gaping, dangerous holes have been covered with the high-density plastic grates. Nice to see our rates money well spent and that we have a city that works efficiently. Well done!

  3. On Wednesday afternoon I saw the horse and cart enter Berkeley Rd form BUshwood Road. I stopped and watched it for several minutes letting them know that I had seen them (three young coloured men). One of htem then started to make as if he was fixing the horses’s hooves – tapping it with a stone whihc even I realised coudn’t be doing anything. IN fact what I think he was doing was warning his accomplice NOT to come out of the house in front of which they were stopped. Anyway I gave up watching, a few moment later I heard the clip clop of the horse going past my entrance. Seconds after that a wvisitor to St Anthony’s told me that he’d seen the fellows loading a geyser onto the cart. I immediately phoned the mobile police van number which is the first number on my phone (“aapolicevan”) and within minutes the thieves were apprehended and takne to the police station. The renters of the house were able to confirm directly to the police that they had not given these crooks the geyser (as they alleged). Three things come out of this, I met the neighbours, at least some thieves know that we will take swift action agaisnt unwanted presence, and thirdly we know that the police van really works and works well. Might I respectfully suggest that anyone seeing anything peculiar or worrying simply does the same – phone the police van 0798941466 and also make it the first number on yoru phone by prefixing it with “aa” on your phone. Regards to all Michael Edwards. I know this should be a separate message but I don’t know how to get there !

Leave a Reply

